Proper Encapsulation

Created at 01 May 2016, 09:21
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!
MA

martinplatt.com

Joined 01.05.2016

Proper Encapsulation
01 May 2016, 09:21

Hi Guys,

I'm just getting into cAlgo - I'm a coder in .NET since beta versions, just getting into the API.

Is there any way that I could pass about information like that market information?  

I wanted to create a class to categorize candles for recognition purposes, but I have no idea if I can do that without categorization being part of the indicator or bot class directly?  I'd like to separate and decouple the various parts of the code.

I mean, if I had a Candle object, and some code - call it CandleCategorizer, is there a way that CandleCategorizer could be able to pull out the OHLC values, and populate the Candle objects, for example?

Ultimately I want to be able to decouple the MarketSeries interface from the other objects, so that they can work independently?

Ultimately is there information on the types of these API Interfaces, so that I could encapsulate everything, should I wish to?  Is the an Interface type that I could use for example, like IDataSource or something like that?

Cheers,

Martin.

@martinplatt.com
Replies

martinplatt.com
01 May 2016, 09:28

I'd like an answer on the Interfaces question, however, after a coffee - that was the key - I can use logic in the Indicator or robot to call constructors for a candle object, passing in the relevant values, then get it to initialize and categorize itself.  Doh.  Apologies for asking that daft question!

@martinplatt.com

ClickAlgo
02 May 2016, 10:00

Hi Martin,

You should be able to just extend the API with your own object hierarchy to suit any patterns you would like to implement, you will also serialize the data for persistence.