FIX API access to client accounts via access token?

Created at 28 Mar 2019, 10:27
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!
CT

ctid320188

Joined 19.04.2017

FIX API access to client accounts via access token?
28 Mar 2019, 10:27

Hi,

I'm brand new to FIX API and wonder if I could ask some advice. I've created a working solution for mirroring my trades to my clients using Connect API and accessing their accounts to place/close trades using their access tokens. All good.

Is this possible via FIX API too? or do you need the password to their accounts to connect using FIX?

Reason for looking into FIX over my current Connect API solution is I now have clients that want to use a MT4 broker rather than a cTrader broker and I "believe" FIX can go to either broker where Connect is only cTrader? Please correct me if this is an incorrect assumption....

I have tried using the FIX API example from github.com/spotware/FIX-API-Sample but it just errors when I try anything. I got it to logon but that was about all it would do. Maybe it's an old version?

Hope some people can advise as I'm brand new to FIX and need some guidance.

Thank you.

Ro

@ctid320188
Replies

PanagiotisCharalampous
28 Mar 2019, 11:31

Hi Rowie,

1) You cannot use tokens with FIX API. You need the trading account passwords.

2) Can you tell us what problems do you have with FIX API Sample? Should be working out of the box.

Best Regards,

Panagiotis

@PanagiotisCharalampous

ctid320188
28 Mar 2019, 11:48

RE:

Panagiotis Charalampous said:

Hi Rowie,

1) You cannot use tokens with FIX API. You need the trading account passwords.

2) Can you tell us what problems do you have with FIX API Sample? Should be working out of the box.

Best Regards,

Panagiotis

Thank you for clarifying that for me. That will be a show stopper for me then.