Some newbie FIX questions.

Created at 21 Apr 2017, 16:14
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!
CT

ctid320840

Joined 21.04.2017

Some newbie FIX questions.
21 Apr 2017, 16:14

I'm new to the FIX API trading and have several questions.

1) How better is the cTrader FIX order execution time if compared with cTrader/cAlgo scheme or MQL4/5? For example, on Tickmill with MT4 and VPS in LD4  I have around 0.1-0.5sec for an order to execute. How much would I win by switching to FIX?  How worse that time is if compared with the execution time for FIX data coming from LP? As far as I could tell, this cTrader FIX server broadcasts the broker quotes, not the Tier 1, right? So there should be a delay in execution, therefore, slippage.

2) Having a separate cTrader FIX server means that I could use any coding language (C++ in my case) and not even bother about running cTrader platform. Am I correct on this?

3) Are there any examples on C++ on how to connect to FIX server through SSL, grab data feed and post requests? Yeah, reading the documentation is an option, but looking into the well-written code is better, I suppose.

@ctid320840
Replies

ctid320840
21 Apr 2017, 20:32

I was also playing with FIX-API-Sample program and noticed that by clicking too many times "Spot Market Data Request" i eventually get an error:

8=FIX.4.49=19235=j34=449=cServer50=QUOTE52=20170421-17:29:23.87456=icmarkets.326935757=QUOTE58=UNKNOWN_ERROR:Error while performing operation. ClientRequestId = EURUSD:WDqsoT379=EURUSD:WDqsoT380=010=213

Does that mean that frequent requests are not allowed? (btw, the broker i'm using is IC Markets)

Or is it the broker who is restricting too frequent requests?

@ctid320840

ctid320840
21 Apr 2017, 20:55

Also I would like to know how many connections to the FIX API server are allowed per account?