Trailing Stop Order?

Created at 23 May 2016, 20:59
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!

nmaxcom

Joined 23.05.2016

Trailing Stop Order?
23 May 2016, 20:59

Hi,

I'm very new to this platform. I've looked up your help pages and searched the forum, and still I can't find exactly what I'm looking for, which is nothing super fancy IMO.

I've tried your Advanced Stop Loss, Take Profit, etc, but I can't find the Trailing Stop Order functionality. Let me explain what I mean: let's say I buy at 20$ and put a TP (Take Profit) at 30$. I'd set a Trailing Stop Order with a margin of 2$.

What this would do for me is maximize my profits, and this is how: when the price gets at 30$, it won't close my order. Instead, it will see if it grows more, let's say: 32$, then 36$, 40$... Now, the moment the price starts to decline from that maximum point (40$) the 2$ margin I set up would protect me. If the price keeps falling and reaches 38$, then the order is closed.

Am I wrong somewhere? Is this functionality in cTrader?

@nmaxcom
Replies

Spotware
24 May 2016, 10:26 ( Updated at: 21 Dec 2023, 09:20 )

Dear Trader,

The Trailing Stop Loss now resides on the server, it works when cTrader is closed. You can apply it when creating an order. It has also been simplified, please enter the number of pips it should trail the spot price for, and it will move every pip.

@Spotware

nmaxcom
25 May 2016, 05:10

I'm not sure we are talking about the same thing.

As clear as it gets: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4dIZPhm0uo

@nmaxcom

nmaxcom
09 Jun 2016, 15:44

Did you abandoned this question for good? Why?

@nmaxcom

kricka
10 Jun 2016, 15:19

Break-even and trailing stop

The Market Order 3.0 cBot has a trailing stop and also move to break-even with additional pips that can be added on to place the stop loss strategically right.