Stop loss did not execute

Created at 27 Oct 2017, 20:36
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!
DA

davymailu

Joined 03.08.2017

Stop loss did not execute
27 Oct 2017, 20:36

Could someone from Spotware please explain why a pending order with a stop loss will get filled once price reaches the specified levels, but if the stop loss is inside the spread it gets rejected leading to a total loss? This is completely flawed logic on Spotware's part. Even MT4 doesn't have this weird logic. 

@davymailu
Replies

MenMarMax
29 Oct 2017, 14:34

This happened to me also.  How much spread does a news event result to?  What is the recommended Stop Loss in pips to avoid this from happening?  I'm just a newbie so please bear with me.

@MenMarMax

davymailu
29 Oct 2017, 16:40

I requested the limit for "abnormal spreads" from my broker, if at all there is something like that. I am yet to see if they have any limit. From what I've seen before, spreads could go crazy since they come straight from their liquidity providers (only for true ECN platforms). It could be that there is no existing limit. It all depends on the liquidity available at certain moments. However, to get an idea as to how wide they could get try to see your broker's spreads during the weekends. Note that these might still be lower than those during news time sometimes. For example the USD/CAD spread right now is 6.7 pips for FXPro cTrader while during news time it could be anywhere between 8-15 pips, without counting the commission. It's really shocking since I thought ECN platforms would have lower spreads due to the commissions. If you are a newbie I'd recommend trying out MT4 first for news trading, even though the execution might be slower and the slippage might be great. At least you'll be safe from the fake stop losses that cTrader has to offer.