Difference between these 2 lines

Created at 03 Aug 2022, 21:16
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!
KU

kurtisnauss

Joined 08.06.2022

Difference between these 2 lines
03 Aug 2022, 21:16

Hi, 

I am new to writing my own codes and a little confused and hard to find any real answers when searching it online.

I would like to know what the difference between these 2 lines of code actually are and what each represents...

This is the preceding code that works with the "index" reference.

protected override void OnBar()
{
     int index = Bars.Count - 1;
     Entry(index);
     Exits(index);
}

These are the codes that follow and reference the lines above.

private void Entry(int index)
{

Example #1

Bars.ClosePrices[index] > slowMa.Result[index] && Bars.ClosePrices[index - 1] < slowMa.Result[index - 1]

Example #2

Bars.ClosePrices[index] > slowMa.Result[index]

When optimizing, example 1 produces very little results in terms of total trades and therefore reduces the net profit it produces. 

However, when using example 2, it produces very good results but uses up ALL of my memory and begins not responding to where I have to manually end task. 

Now finally when I originally had only this line in the bot it worked fine and never used up a lot of the memory.

fastMa.Result[index] > mediumMa.Result[index] && fastMa.Result[index - 1] < mediumMa.Result[index - 1]

I am very confused why it is doing this now that I added the new line.

The only real difference being the "Bars.ClosePrices" crossing over the moving average instead of having the ma crossover.

If someone could clear this up for me or present a solution to this problem it would GREATLY appreciated!! 

Thank you.

@kurtisnauss
Replies

firemyst
04 Aug 2022, 03:56