How does the VS extension work to forward build execution to cTrader ?

Created at 21 Jan 2021, 23:59
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!
JE

JerryTrader

Joined 06.01.2021

How does the VS extension work to forward build execution to cTrader ?
21 Jan 2021, 23:59

Hello guys, 

I'm new to cTrader and I'm still figuring out how to have a good workflow before switching to the platform and converting all my indicators / bots.
One of my prerequisites is to be able to use .Net Framework 4.6.2 and C# 6, which is not natively supported yet. 
Unfortunately, it is "in their backlog with no ETA" for few years now, and I feel like that they don't care that much (correct me if I'm wrong).

Thanks to this thread, I managed to be able to use .Net Framework 4.6.2 and C# 6, but the limitation is that we have to build the DLLs first, then build the solution.
I'm looking for a way to be able to simply build the solution, which will first build my DLLs, then call the "Build Solution" that is magically forwarded to cTrader thanks to the VS Extension.

I wanted to try 2 different approaches, but can't understand how to do it because of some mystic behavior:

1. Solution 1: Add a Pre-Build event on the cBot project, that will build my DLLs. But why does the "Build Events" is not showing ? Every project I create have this tab...
  2. Solution 2: Add a Post-Build event on my DLLs (because this time I have the tab on my project), that will forward the build of the cBot project to cTrader. But there's no way to know what to call in the Post-Build event to do so...

@cTrader team:

1. Is the .Net Framework upgrade still really in the pipe ?
  2. Since we cannot predict when cTrader will support .Net Framework 4.6+, can you answer to at least one of my questions above ?