Automated optimization of a cBot

Created at 03 May 2020, 13:41
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!
CT

ctid2032775

Joined 03.05.2020

Automated optimization of a cBot
03 May 2020, 13:41

Hi all,

My first steps showed that cTrader is a great software with a modern front end and a very good feature set that supports (nearly) everything a trader needs!

I am working on the final specifications of some quite sophisticated bots (FDC, self learning) and did some "proof-of-concept" in MetaTrader. But as an experienced C# developer I would prefer to do the "real" implementation in cTrader.

At first sight I detected that most of the requirements are met but there are some "knockout criteria" that make it hard to get a final platform decision:

• Part of the bot is a machine learning algorithm that is already existing in C# - I guess it's not a problem to include this in a cBot, right?
  • As the algorithm is very sensitive in case of parameters - i. e. working for some time and then failing - the concept contains "regular optimization" triggered by different events
    • Every weekend an optimization needs to be done for the past x days/weeks/months
    • If an indicator falls below or exceeds a specific threshold the optimization needs to be done immediately

In MetaTrader there is a quite laborious workaround with two separate instances where one is running 24/7 and the second one is only started for optimization - the communication between the two instances is performed by global variables...

I found a (very old) posting (https://ctrader.com/forum/calgo-support/1819) where it is mentioned that an automatic optimization is planned.

Therefore, I have the following questions:

• Is this feature already existing (unfortunately I didn't find any information)?