These two must be simple but they are killing me !!

Created at 30 Nov 2015, 04:11
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!
SI

sim_trader

Joined 03.08.2013

These two must be simple but they are killing me !!
30 Nov 2015, 04:11

Hi Everyone,

Thanks again for all your help in the past. I have been struggling for a couple of days trying to implement 2 relatively simple things.  I have tried reading the forum and C# websites and the help.  I am still very new to C. 99% things I have solved, but these are killing me !

Problem 1

I am trying to simply read in the current market depth volume for the present bid and the present ask.  In the simplest way possible. 

Presently my code is this

MarketDepth marketDepth = MarketData.GetMarketDepth(Symbol);

var volumeask = marketDepth.AskEntries[0].Volume;
               var volumebid = marketDepth.BidEntries[0].Volume;

It complies but then crashes the cbot at runtime. What is the proper way ?

Problem 2

I simply need to get the maximum ask price and minimum bid price over the last 200 ticks.  In MT4 I would simple build an array and store the last 200 bid/ask values which I could then use for many things. However, in C# I cannot get it work. This runs and compiles and is placed within “On Tick()”

double[] bids;
            bids = new double[200];

foreach (int i in bids)
            {
                bids[i + 1] = bids[i];
            }
            bids[0] = Symbol.Bid;

double[] asks;
            asks = new double[200];
            foreach (int i in asks)
            {
                asks[i + 1] = asks[i];
            }
            bids[0] = Symbol.Bid;

var high = bids.Max();
            var low = asks.Min();