onBar and Functions

Created at 12 Apr 2023, 14:35
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!
RO

robert.john.edgar

Joined 25.01.2023

onBar and Functions
12 Apr 2023, 14:35

I am new to coding cBots, though not to coding, and wondering if I am missing something and making things to complicated for myself.

Functions like Minimum/Maximum/HasCrossedAbove/Below etc. take a DataSeries and a period.

OnBar is triggered on the opening of a Bar not the close.

If I call HasCrossedXXX in OnBar it will include the current unclosed Bar, so whatever the result I get I cannot know for sure whether in fact it really is correct because the current bar is not closed so it may not be crossed by the end of the bar, neither can I use it for looking back at the last closed bar because there isn't a way to call HasCrossed that won't include the current unclosed bar.

Therefore the only solution seems to be to have to code up my own version of HasCrossed etc.. that excludes the current bar? 

This is what I have started to do but it seems odd that I need to code up a bunch of replacements for the existing cTrader API just to get usable data and I wonder if I am missing something obvious.

Thanks

Rob

@robert.john.edgar
Replies

firemyst
13 Apr 2023, 03:49

What do you have for your "Period" setting?

According to the API documentation, the "HasCrossed" should look back the number of bars equal to "period" and see if the values have crossed during that time:

So if you have a period of 1, it should look back over the last 1 bars to see if the values have crossed. If you set period to 2, it should look over the last 2 bars to see if the values have crossed, etc etc.

If not, then please post sample code showing the issue so everyone can see what you're doing and how.

Thank you.

@firemyst

robert.john.edgar
13 Apr 2023, 11:51