Use Leverage

Created at 17 Dec 2020, 10:16
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!
LE

leonavonm

Joined 16.12.2020

Use Leverage
17 Dec 2020, 10:16

Good day! 

I am a Beginner exploring the sample trading bots made available by cTrader on their application. With the bots I see that the account has a balance of 10,000(units of currency) However some bots can make use of more capital still. The Martingale bot can trade values of 512,000(units of currency) but the account only has a 10,000(units of currency) balance, how is this possible?

Further if I wish to leverage a trade on a currency pair, how can this be done? (what is the syntax?)

I saw on the API refence guide that there is a Leverage property however I don't know how to apply this to my trades. 

Any help would be appreciated.

Leon

@leonavonm
Replies

PanagiotisCharalampous
17 Dec 2020, 10:59

Hi Leon,

It is possible to open positions with a volume higher than your balance because of leverage. There is nothing you need to do to enable it, it is a built in feature. If you have a leverage of 1:100 and 1000 units balance then you can open positions worth of 100000 units.

Best Regards,

Panagiotis 

Join us on Telegram 

@PanagiotisCharalampous

leonavonm
17 Dec 2020, 12:07 ( Updated at: 17 Dec 2020, 12:45 )

RE:

PanagiotisCharalampous said:

Hi Leon,

It is possible to open positions with a volume higher than your balance because of leverage. There is nothing you need to do to enable it, it is a built in feature. If you have a leverage of 1:100 and 1000 units balance then you can open positions worth of 100000 units.

Best Regards,

Panagiotis 

Join us on Telegram 

Thank you Panagiotis! I thought that might be the case. Will this also relate to the reason that I cannot make trades with lots of 0.001? Or are these two problems not related?