Awesome backtest rerformance - how reliable is the backtest?

Created at 18 Jul 2013, 19:08
How’s your experience with the cTrader Platform?
Your feedback is crucial to cTrader's development. Please take a few seconds to share your opinion and help us improve your trading experience. Thanks!

Nego

Joined 18.07.2013

Awesome backtest rerformance - how reliable is the backtest?
18 Jul 2013, 19:08

Hi Traders, Hi Coders, Hi Support Team,

I began to work with cAlgo just recently. First of all, concratulations to this powerful tool. I am sure many profitable robots will be created thanks to this great plattform. It is very convenient to code with cAlgo, although I am fairly new to the C# language. 

I finished a Robot and began to backtest it. Below you see the backtest results of a random setting. (By random I mean that I know the strategy pretty well and understand that there are better settings to find). It is made on EURUSD and tested it over a year.

I find the backtest results quite amazing, however I am not too confident that I will get the same results while forward testing. 

Now I am wondering how the tick data of the cAlgo backtesting tool are modeled. Is there any Information available?

Have a nice day everyone. 

Ps: If you have a strategy that you want to get encoded, feel free to contact me: nego@nego-forex.com. 

@Nego
Replies

Cerunnos
19 Jul 2013, 13:55

Hi Nego!

Profit factor, max. drawdown etc. looks good. But I don't think you can trade as high-volumes with an initial investment of only 1,000 euros :-) Otherwise, many traders would be rich very quickly (or vice versa) ...

@Cerunnos

algoforce
23 Jul 2013, 22:06

impresssive. make sure you add your live account to myfxbook

@algoforce

Nego
24 Jul 2013, 11:26

@ algoforce: Thank you, I will post results of the demo account every now and then.